A Chat + Giveaway With Historical Author Diana Quincy

This week, the Femmes are happy to welcome debut Historical author Diana Quincy to the blog. Not only is she incredibly talented, Diana is smart, generous, and hilarious. Her first novel, SEDUCING CHARLOTTE, has just been released with Entangled Publishing.

VF: Give us three words that describe SEDUCING CHARLOTTE. Seducing-Charlotte-Cover-200x300

DQ: Sexy, smart and surprising. (At least I hope that’s what readers will think!)

VF: How did you get the idea for the story? 

DQ: I was doing research for another project when I stumbled onto information about the Luddite uprisings. For those readers who don’t know, the concept originated with a workers’ rebellion which began in Nottinghamshire, England, in 1811, when desperate, unemployed workers took to breaking into factories at night to wreck the machines which had stolen their livelihoods.I was fascinated to read that the machine breakers were led by the elusive Ned Ludd, a man who may or may not have been fictional. That sparked the idea of a story about machine breakers and placing my hero and heroine on opposite sides of the conflict. 

 VF: I love the opening of SEDUCING CHARLOTTE (which I don’t want to give away here!). It’s a bit racy but nice, allowing us to meet the hero in an unexpected way. Did you experience any push back on that, or were you worried about the hero’s likability afterwards?  

DQ: I did get some blowback in contests; some judges hated it and graded me down as a result. Interestingly, none of the agents or editors who read the opening had any problem with it. It was definitely a twist on the “meet cute” theme and, for the hero and heroine, at least, made their first meeting memorable. I did worry about Cam being perceived a unlikeable, but I hoped his innate honor and decency would quickly become apparent to the reader, as it does to Charlotte. 

VF: Share some details about your path to publication. How long had you been writing before you got “the call?” Any major challenges along the way?

DQ: I’ve been writing almost five years now. The challenges I’ve faced are the same as most writers: lots of rejection and finding the fortitude to keep on going. Writing contests figured prominently in my journey. They gave me the little victories and encouragement I needed to keep going. When “the call” finally came, it was from my agent and I actually received two e-publishing offers. Finally! I actually had a choice!

VF: You have a career and a family outside of writing. How do you manage to squeeze it all in? 

DQ: It has been a scramble, but writing really is a passion for me. It’s rarely a chore to force myself to sit down and get to writing. I work a four-day week at the day job, so I can dedicate one full day to writing while the kids are in school. I also get up early on weekends to write. My children are middle schoolers so they’re much more self-sufficient than when they were younger. I’ve also had to let certain things go. The house isn’t as clean as it used to be and my sons probably play more video games than they should. As long as they keep their grades up, I try to tell myself not to sweat the small stuff. My husband has been pretty amazing, too. He makes dinner almost as often as I do. But I’m still in charge of the major clean-up, although he would disagree!

VF: What’s your favorite TV show? Favorite book? Favorite movie?

DQ: Like most everyone, I enjoy “Downton Abbey” and I also love “Project Runway.” My son is addicted to the new “Dallas” reboot so we watch that together. We also watch Washington Redskins football games together. That’s our real “can’t miss” TV!

I don’t know if I have a favorite book, but recently I’ve really enjoyed the “God is an Englishman” series by RF Delderfield.  It’s a sweeping family saga that also looks at the changing face of Victorian and Industrial England over the decades. I decided to give it a try after two separate friends – who don’t know each other – both recommended the author.

And, because life is dramatic enough, these days I prefer romantic comedies when it comes to films. One of my favorites is from the late 1980s – “Baby Boom” with Diane Keaton. Not only do I love Diane, but the movie also had everything I like in a romantic comedy: a heroine taking control of her life, a satisfying love story and great clothes!

Dora-Mekouar_Diana-Quincy-VF: Fill in the blank. When I’m not writing, I’m __________.

DQ: Reading or going to one of my son’s games. (You’ll notice there’s no mention of cooking, cleaning or doing laundry in there.)

VF: Readers might not know this, but you make amazing hummus. What else might readers not know about you?

DQ: I also make a mean sugarless and butterless coconut pecan cookie that actually tastes good!

One lucky commenter will win a digital copy of her new book, SEDUCING CHARLOTTE, courtesy of the author!

Here’s the book blurb:

Even if he is the catch of the season, Charlotte Livingston has a low opinion of the wildly handsome Marquess of Camryn. He’s an industrialist who thinks nothing of replacing workers with machines, depriving them of an honest living. Camryn is everything a social reformer like Charlotte detests. Besides, her loyalty belongs to another man.

Yet, as a violent machine-breakers rebellion rages across England, an undeniable attraction flares between the passionate adversaries. Camryn vows to destroy the rebel movement, unaware that the spinster who has captured his heart, harbors a secret – a shocking connection to one of its leaders that could shatter them both.

Comment below for your chance to win a digital copy of the book! 

Thanks to Diana for joining us this week. Diana can be found on her blogTwitter, and SEDUCING CHARLOTTE can be purchased at Amazon., at iTunes, and at Kobo.
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. Hi Ladies! Thanks for having me over!

    Reply
  2. Jenna Blue

     /  April 22, 2013

    Wonderful interview, ladies! So enjoyed it! No need to put me in the drawing as I’ve already bought Seducing Charlotte and can’t wait to start. I love the “stumbling onto” a research tidbit leading to a whole book. I always wonder where authors find their ideas! I feel like I’m peering into a dark, empty barrell sometimes…I’m all in for the cookies, sound delicious!
    Jenna

    Reply
  3. Hi Jenna,

    I often find real life can be more remarkable than invented tales!

    In fact, the next book in the series, TEMPTING BELLA, was also inspired by two actual historical events: a childhood marriage arranged to settle a gaming debt, and a woman who was allowed to inherit her father’s ducal title, since he had no male heirs.

    Both of these events fueled my imagination and provided an excellent starting point for writing a historical romance.

    Reply
  4. Nicole Doran

     /  April 22, 2013

    What a great interview and peek into who you are Diana! I love stories that give me a look into something I’d never have dreamed of learning about before. What a wonderful and unique inspiration based on real facts that you’ve given your hero/heroine and their conflict. It’s on my TBR and purchase list for sure. Good luck with the rest of your books!
    Nicole
    BTW-The cookie sounds great…share please!?! I bake for the troops every month and that recipe sounds like it would be perfect for shipping overseas…:-)

    Reply
    • RoseAnn DeFranco

       /  April 23, 2013

      You have just inspired me, Nicole. How many batches of cookies do you bake? We donate from the Girl Scout cookie sales every year, and the GS have baked for veterans, but we haven’t shipped overseas. Love that you do this!

      Reply
  5. Hi Nicole -Thanks for your comment and I hope you enjoy SEDUCING CHARLOTTE.

    Now, to the more important stuff, the cookie…

    I use coconut sugar in cookie recipes now because a recent food sensitivity test found I should avoid cane sugar and butter. Coconut sugar, maple syrup or agave are now my go-to sweeteners in baking. Instead of butter, I use grapeseed oil, which has a very mild taste, so it doesn’t impact the cookie’s overall yumminess factor.

    Reply
  6. Jenna Blue

     /  April 22, 2013

    Next two books sound great as well, Dora! Love that they are based on things that actually happened. Very cool!
    Nicole: you bake for troops every month? You are like Wonder Woman–handling it all with a smile and not a sign of sweat! I swear! : )

    Reply
    • Nicole Doran

       /  April 22, 2013

      Awww thanks Jenna. It’s something I started doing a long time ago and it’s my therapy of sorts…plus I get to sample the goodies..LOL.

      Reply
  7. Thanks for stopping by and chatting, Diana! I am reading the story now, and it’s wonderful. So much of your personality and humor come through in the writing. Best of luck with this release and the next in the series!!

    Reply
    • I’m glad you’re enjoying it, Joanna! Reaction to the book has been the funnest part of the process for me so far. Family, friends and coworkers, who don’t usually read romance, have expressed surprise that they enjoyed it. It’s a backhanded compliment…but I’ll take it!

      Reply
  8. Thanks for visiting the Femmes, Diana! It’s great to see you here, and to learn more about you. I didn’t know you’re a football fan. Me too! (The Broncos). My son and I like to watch Castle and Criminal Minds together, but he has no interest in football.

    I can’t wait to read your book…so proud of you for making your first sale! I’m so excited to see your star rise.

    Hugs,
    Jaye

    Reply
    • Hi Jaye,

      Thanks for having me on the blog! All of the fabulous Femmes have been incredibly supportive of me and it is very appreciated!

      I’ve never actually watched an entire episode of Castle. It is on my list though since so many people seem to enjoy it.

      And because I like you so much, I won’t hold the fact that you are a Broncos fan against you. 😉

      Reply
  9. Thanks for visiting with us, Diana. I didn’t really know what your book was about until reading this post. And now that I was able to download it to my Nook tonight, I’m looking forward to reading it.

    I, too, would much rather watch a romantic comedy, although I did start watching Downton Abbey. My kids and I enjoy Once Upon A Time and they’re even into Dancing With The Stars.

    The coconut cookies sound delish! You’ll have to bring samples to the conference in October! Wishing you much success!!

    Reply
  10. Hi Maria,

    First of all, thanks for your support and I hope you enjoy SEDUCING CHARLOTTE! Sorry it took so long for you to be able to download.

    My other son does like to watch Once Upon a Time, too, although I haven’t seen an episode of the show yet.

    About the cookies…I will bring a batch to the NJRW convention in October. I wouldn’t miss it!

    Reply
  11. RoseAnn DeFranco

     /  April 23, 2013

    Great interview, Joanna! LOVE that you went there and asked about the opening scene. I was interested as to reception as well. Diana, I thought you handled the scene very well. While I haven’t finished SEDUCING CHARLOTTE, I can see how it sets up the hero. I actually found him quite likable from the very start. You’re a brave writer and taking risks. I believe that is going to translate into a very long career with a dedicate following.

    Diana, your humor shines through in everything you do and this interview is no exception. Kudos to you on managing the balancing act. During my mother’s last visit she was shocked to see how dirty my dining room windows were. Just like you said, you can’t sweat the small stuff. So your boys play a few more video games than they used to, and my daughter looks through dirty dining room windows (mom has since cleaned them. She couldn’t take it!) but they are happy, healthy and well fed children! Love that the hubs is in the kitchen and the battle is on for clean up! Sounds like my house!

    I’m all about Romantic Comedies. Always in search of a great one in the movies. Hubs and I watched Castle for years. Recently we haven’t had as much time. We enjoy Nashville and Downton Abbey. We Smash as well which is a hoot since we were both in the theatre for many years. Some of the show has gotten so far away from reality, we just laugh and crack jokes about it, but makes for an interesting viewing experience. My daughter and I look forward to every new Once Upon a Time Episode. I love that it’s on Sunday nights. It is the perfect capper to the weekend.

    Wishing you all the best and plenty of sales, Diana!

    RoseAnn

    Reply
  12. Hi RoseAnn,

    Thanks for your super nice words! I hope you enjoy the rest of the book!

    I have to admit I don’t watch much television because there’s only so much time. And I tend to get obsessive once I start reading a book – I have to keep reading every chance I get.
    But I have heard so much about Castle that I really am going to have to watch it one of these days.

    Washing windows??? People do that???

    Reply
  13. Mia

     /  April 24, 2013

    Hello Diana,

    Congrats on the debut. Although we’ve never met face to face I am one of your (friendly) twitter stalkers. Seducing Charlotte is on my tbr pile it sounds like you are the next John Jakes. I love his stories so I’m sure I’ll love yours.

    Happy writing
    Mia

    Reply
    • Hi Mia,

      Of course I recognize you from Twitter! We’re pals! I don’t know about being the next John Jakes, but I love his books so that’s a HUGE compliment. Thank you! I do hope you find SEDUCING CHARLOTTE to be a good read. 🙂

      Reply
  14. Hi Diana,

    This was a terrific interview! I love how you were so frank about contest results, especially considering the amazing opening scene in SEDUCING CHARLOTTE, (which I love and would have scored off the charts).

    I’m going to keep my comments brief as I just came off a crazy work week and need to relax with a good book. No, don’t need any recommendations. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting us, Diana. Hope to have you with us again when book 2 is published.

    Cheers,
    Michele

    Reply
    • Hi Michele,

      I’ll be brief since I certainly don’t want to interrupt any *important* reading you might be doing at the moment 😉

      My favorite-ever contest comment came from a judge who wrote that “Seducing Charlotte” read like “racy Jane Austen.” I WISH. Funny thing is she scored my entry very low. It was the best insult I’ve ever received…and probably beats all compliments, too!

      I’m glad you like the opening of “Seducing Charlotte” and hope the rest of the book is OK too…

      Reply
  15. Elaine Rotondo

     /  April 29, 2013

    Diana, I am a long time reader of romance novels. I love finding new author’s and plan on reading “Seducing Charlotte” ASAP. Good luck on your first novel and the many more to come.

    Reply
    • Hi Elaine – Thanks for stopping by the blog. I hope you enjoy “Seducing Charlotte.” Thanks for giving it a try!

      Reply

Talk Back to the Femmes....

  • Recent Releases by the Femmes

  • JB Schroeder

  • Joanna Shupe

  • Tina Gabrielle

  • Maria K. Alexander

  • Michele Mannon

  • Diana Quincy

  • RoseAnn DeFranco

  • The Femmes:

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13,646 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Stuff

