Romantic Moment

You might imagine writing a post about your favorite romantic moment to be an easy task for a romance writer.

Not so. Why?

It is a daunting task selecting just one. Every story has some element of romance. The beautiful, magical connection between characters is what is so compelling to readers/viewers. It is why we care what happens to our hero and heroine. The emotional struggle within a character as he or she grapples with their desires; the moment an author’s words resonate so deeply inside you it makes you laugh, or cry; the sigh of relief when our hearts—and those of the characters we care so deeply about—are spared. That is what I love in storytelling. That is what I find romantic, too.

The Oscar nominated movie, Silver Linings Playbook, based on the book by a High School English teacher, Matthew Quick, touched me in such a way.

The characters are real people, facing genuine problems, who you want to reach out and hug. And they leave you hoping that love will conquer all.

Excerpt:

“The world will break your heart ten ways to Sunday. That’s guaranteed. And I can’t begin to explain that. Or the craziness inside myself and everybody else. But guess what? Sunday is my favorite day again. I think of everything everyone did for me. And I feel like a very lucky guy.”

Character: Pat  Silver Linings Playbook

Don’t you instantly fall in love with him? Pat suffers from a bipolar disorder—talk about a complex character. But he loves, and loves deeply.  (Note:  It doesn’t hurt that Bradley Cooper plays the character so well, you fall in love with him too!)

Then, there’s Tiffany.

Excerpt:

(Set up: Tiffany ambushes Pat during a run.)

Pat: Why don’t you run somewhere else. There’s tons roads to run in.

Tiffany: I like this road. This is my neighborhood.

Pat: Oh, come on, please.

Tiffany: Calm down, crazy.

Pat spits.

Tiffany spits back.

You have to love a heroine who is strong, complex and goes after what she wants. (Note: Jennifer Lawrence is amazing. Tiffany is a tough character, who is abrasive and plain speaking. But when she tears up on screen, you cry along with her. That’s great script-writing, and great acting.)

The love story unfolds.

Excerpt:

Dear Pat,

It was very emotional for me to get your letter, as I’m sure you can imagine. But I’m glad you took the risk of discretely getting to me through Tiffany.

Written by Pat’s ex-wife (or not!)

Excerpt:  (And my favorite romantic moment from this script/movie!!!)

Dear Tiffany,

I know you wrote the letter. (Tiffany reads aloud to Pat)

(Tiffany stops reading and Pat tells her what he’s written while looking at her. She starts crying.) The only way you could meet my crazy is by doing something crazy yourself.

Thank you. I love you.

I knew it the minute I met you.

I’m sorry it took so long to catch up. I just got stuck.

Pat

Talk about romantic moments. What resonates with me is that I care so much about these characters because of their quirks and flaws. I want them to find each other. I want them to fall in love.

Silver Linings Playbook is a deep, thoughtful, and romantic story, that will have you laughing and crying. It’s my top choice for most romantic storyline.

I’m curious to find out who agrees!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. R.A. DeFranco

     /  February 28, 2013

    Ahhh!!!! This movie is at the top of my list of movies to see. You described these moments so beautifully, I feel as if I’ve already seen them. Thank you for sharing. When you guys started blogging about Romantic Moments, my first thought was the same as yours, how can you pick just one!

    Reply
  2. I can’t wait to see this movie. And yes, Bradley Cooper doesn’t hurt!

    Reply
  3. I completely agree with you, Michele. This was a wonderful movie. Definitely worth the Oscars it won. Both Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence did a fantastic job portraying their characters. There were times I wanted to laugh and cry.

    Reply
  4. Jenna Blue

     /  March 1, 2013

    I just love that first line. “The world will break your heart ten ways to Sunday,” so telling, and yet—he still feels like a very lucky guy. That’s the power of love, romance, and family! Great post, Michele!
    And Joanna–loving the way our comments look now with the beautiful makeover! Thanks!

    Reply
  5. Michele, loved that movie. The Oscars made me want to go see it again, and your post has made me want to read the book.

    Jaye

    Reply

Talk Back to the Femmes....

  • Recent Releases by the Femmes

  • JB Schroeder

  • Joanna Shupe

  • Tina Gabrielle

  • Maria K. Alexander

  • Michele Mannon

  • Diana Quincy

  • RoseAnn DeFranco

  • The Femmes:

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13,646 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Stuff

