Favorite Romantic Moment

valentines day couple

For many of us, we eat, drink, and sleep romance. We’re writers. It’s what we do. Especially if you’re a member of NJ Romance Writers and are participating in our 30,000-word February writing challenge, JeRoWriMo (Jersey Romance Writing Month)! Even while I’m working my day job, driving, or even—forgive me—hanging out with my family, a part of me often is thinking about my characters. It’s not enough to write that happily-ever-after for our hero and heroine. We have to write it in a way that evokes the emotion of the reader; to make our characters so real that our readers fall in love with them as much as we do.

Recently, my mom finished reading my second book, Love’s Second Chance. After telling me how much she liked it, she told me it made her cry at the end. I wanted to jump for joy because, I cried (a happy cry) at the end of the book when writing it. That’s the reaction I hoped for. To be so engrossed in the characters that you feel what they feel.

I just finished listening to Suzanne Brockmann’s Into The Fire. There’s a scene toward the end where the hero, Vinh, risks his life to save his lover, Hannah, and many of his friends. He surrenders to the enemy in an open area under gunpoint. The reader knows he loves Hannah but he’s pushed her away and done his best to convince her that she means nothing to him. But as he walks toward the criminals who could end his life, he holds his hands in the American Sign Language position for “I Love You”. Hannah is deaf and the fact that as Vinh faces probable death he publically proclaims his love for her is a poignant moment in the story.

I love you

There are so many ways to reveal your feelings without saying the words. It may be cliché, but sometimes actions do speak louder than words. In Jill Shalvis’s Rescue My Heart, Holly has been getting flowers throughout the story but she doesn’t know who sent them. At first she thinks they’re from the hero, Adam, but quickly learns that’s not the case. By the end of the story he finally brings her flowers, to show his love for her, only she mistakes them to be from her ex and steps on them. Later when she realizes they were from Adam she’s caught up in the emotion of what that one simple little action meant and how much he risked in making it.

purple flowers

What are your favorite romantic moments in a book you’ve read the past year or even from the book you’re writing?

I hope your Valentine’s Day is filled with lots of love, and for those doing JeRoWriMo, writing!

Maria

XOXO

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Jenna Blue

     /  February 4, 2013

    Maria,

    Congrats on that giant compliment! Like you, I also had someone recently say that my story (The Runaway) brought them to tears, and I couldn’t have been more thrilled. It probably wasn’t the romantic moment, but the heart twisting, wrenching moments…regardless, I felt well and truly validated that my writing had touched someone like that.

    I love the scene in “Love, Actually” (yes, apparently it IS a Colin Firth day for me) when Colin Firth’s character comes to the restaurant where his love is waitressing. In halting Portugese (? I can’t quite remember), he asks her to marry him, though they hardly know each other–at least not in terms of talking, in front of the patrons & all those people who have tagged along for the show including her wise-cracking family. It gets me every single time!

    Jenna

    Reply
    • Hi Jenna,

      Validated – I like that word. It makes all the work feel worth it. That was a sweet scene in “Love, Actually, when he proposed to her in the restaurant. I also like the Hugh Grant storyline in the movie. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  2. Yay! Tears!! We love making readers cry. (And pant, but that’s another blog post for another day.)

    I liked that moment in the Suzanne Brockmann story as well. I remember it–even though it’s been more than a year since I read that book.

    I cry so often at books (and tv shows and commercials) that it’s hard for me to remember my very favorite. Guess I have to start thinking of it for next week! 🙂

    Great post!

    Reply
    • Pant…I agree and want to hear more about that! 🙂 I don’t mind crying over a book, movie, tv (can’t recall doing so over a commercial), if it’s a happy cry. What gets me are the bittersweet endings that make me want to sob and then eat a half gallon of ice cream. Can you say Nicholas Sparks? He writes a fantastic story, but the bittersweet endings just kill me.

      Have you ever read the Time Traveler’s Wife? Wonderful book but heartbreakingly sad. I won’t even try to watch the movie.

      Reply
      • I’m a big fan of bittersweet endings! No, I haven’t read TTW. I’ll have to check it out–when I’m ready to cry, that is.

        The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Dideon made me cry BUCKETS.

        And I will admit that the OnStar TV commercials make me cry.

  3. I haven’t read INTO THE FIRE but the romantic moment you mention makes me want to!

    One favorite romantic moment I can think of is in Madeline Hunter’s SECRETS OF SURRENDER when the hero rescues the heroine by “buying” her when she is auctioned off by the villain. She assumes the worst, but of course our hero delivers her to safety. (And ravishes her later when she is up for it 🙂

    Reply
  4. I haven’t read it, either, Diana. So many books, so little time! Jenna, I love that movie, too…and anything with Colin Firth. He’s just so dreamy!

    Oh, gosh, scenes that make me cry…there are so many, it’s hard to pin down just one. Crying is sort of the goal for me with any romantic comedy…if it doesn’t make me cry, it hasn’t done its job.

    Like Joanna…I’m going to have to think about this for awhile. You’ve got me going, now, Maria!

    Jaye

    Reply
  5. R.A. DeFranco

     /  February 12, 2013

    Anything Colin Firth! Yes! Adding INTO THE FIRE to the TBR pile! I love a good movie cry. How silly is it that I cried with the Beast gave Belle the library in Beauty and the Beast?

    Reply

Talk Back to the Femmes....

  • Recent Releases by the Femmes

  • JB Schroeder

  • Joanna Shupe

  • Tina Gabrielle

  • Maria K. Alexander

  • Michele Mannon

  • Diana Quincy

  • RoseAnn DeFranco

  • The Femmes:

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13,646 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Stuff

