The Violet Femmes in 2012

Hi everyone! I thought I would do a quick recap post on how our blog did in 2012. Why?

Well, I could say that it’s that time of year. (It is.) I could also say that I find this sort of information interesting and just wanted to share. (I do, and I do.)

I could also just tell the truth. Part 5 of Glitter Girl isn’t ready.

I know, I know. You’re dying to read it. Well, I’m dying to write it. Unfortunately for me, the Golden Heart deadline is really screwing up my last week of December. So, you’ll get the last installment of Glitter Girl on Wednesday. Until then, enjoy The Violet Femmes 2012 Year in Review.

Happy-New-Year-Eve-2013-4

The Numbers

Our blog got about 7,500 views in 2012. The busiest day of the year was January 30, 2012 when we had our soon-to-be-Femme guest poster, Jenna Blue. Now you see why we made her a regular!

Most of you found us via Facebook, and the majority of our visitors are from the U.S., the Philippines and the U.K.

What We Had To Say

We put up 54 posts in 2012. The top five most popular were:

  1. Twelve Writing Tools for 2012
  2. Contest Winner! Maria K. Alexander Places First in The Write Stuff Contest
  3. In the Beginning: Tips on Starting Your Novel
  4. Can you see what I see? Visualization Using Props, Symbols, and Motifs
  5. How Deep is Your POV?

The post that garnered the most comments was “Love is a Garlic Knot,” Jaye’s Valentine short story.

Our Milestones

There were lots of firsts this year for the Violet Femmes. From contest finals, to contest wins, to having manuscripts go out on submission, to getting “The Call”…2012 was an exciting year. We’re hoping 2013 is even better!

Favorite Books of 2012

I don’t think I could name one favorite book this year. There were so many great books, like “Bared to You” by Sylvia Day and “Scandal Wears Satin” by Loretta Chase. I discovered a lot of series this year that are wildly popular that I came late to, such as the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward, and the Cut & Run series by Abigail Roux. And don’t even get me started on the wonderfully eloquent and heartbreaking Adrien English series by Josh Lanyon. So many amazing books out there. It’s a wonder we find time to still write!

So tell me, what was your favorite book this year?

Happy new year!
Joanna

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Happy New Year Femmes! I hope the good news keeps coming for all five of you.
    My favorite book of 2012 was Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. She’s a YA writer and its the first in a series of five. Also a YA writer I enjoyed was Jennifer Echols Such A Rush.
    Joanna,
    Good luck with the golden heart contest. I hope to see your name as a finalist. I also hope to see you in Atlanta. My life is too upside to make a decision if I’m going or not this early.
    See you in the New Year
    Lori

    Reply
    • Thanks, Lori. Happy New Year to you as well. We certainly have appreciated your friendship and support this year. I hope 2013 is a better one for you and that you make it to Atlanta. It would be fun to hang out during the conference.

      Great YA recommendations. If you’re entering the Golden Heart, good luck!

      Reply
  2. Jenna Blue

     /  December 31, 2012

    Joanna,
    The stats were interesting! Really neat to see how we are doing, thanks!
    Favorite book? Impossible to pick, and so hard to remember everything I’ve read in one year, but the book I read most recently that had that “can’t put it down” quality is Laura Griffin’s SCORCHED. She’s romantic suspense and an absolute auto-buy for me!
    Jenna

    Reply
    • It is hard to keep track of what we read, that’s for sure. I haven’t read any Laura Griffin. Maybe I’ll have to check her out. Thanks for sharing!

      Reply
  3. Great stats. It puts it all in perspective. We did a LOT last year. Look forward to our successes carrying forward into 2013! It’s difficult to pick a favorite book, but here goes. I’ve been trying to read some new authors (whether they’re new to me or debut authors). I loved both books by Ruthie Knoxx (Ride With Me and About Last Night). I also enjoyed Elisabeth Barrett’s Deep Autumn Heat and Susan Anderson’s That Thing Called Love. And it goes without saying that anything by Jill Shalvis is a favorite!

    Reply
  4. Favorite books this year…all of the ones by Kristan Higgins…she makes me laugh! One of my New Year’s resolutions is to read more. I have such a huge pile, but the one I can’t wait to read is Fury of Fire by Coreene Callahan…since you said it is so good. Also looking forward to reading books by new friends Adrienne Giordano and Tracey Devlyn. And Nancy Herkness’ Take Me Home.

    Reply

Talk Back to the Femmes....

  • Recent Releases by the Femmes

  • JB Schroeder

  • Joanna Shupe

  • Tina Gabrielle

  • Maria K. Alexander

  • Michele Mannon

  • Diana Quincy

  • RoseAnn DeFranco

  • The Femmes:

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13,646 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Stuff

