Gift Ideas for Writers

If you’re like me, you’re still scrambling for holiday gifts. Need ideas for that special wordsmith in your life? Or are you a writer and you need to buy yourself a little something for under the tree? Here are a few fun things I’ve found.

Mugs

Nearly every writer drinks coffee or tea to keep the brain juices flowing. And when I say “drink,” I mean CONSUME MASSIVE QUANTITIES OF. If you know a writer, these make great gifts:

General Purpose Mug

Buy here.

For the History Lover

Buy here.

To Get Your Creative On

Buy here.

For His and Her Historical Fans

Buy here.

Because Sometimes It’s True

Buy here.

Other Stuff

If your writer’s cabinets overrunneth with mugs, then how about some of these:

For Those Extra Dirty Stories

Buy here.

Even Sir Mix-a-Lot Would Approve

Buy here.

For a Throw Back

Buy here.

Online Classes

Give the gift of knowledge! There are many groups that run online classes for writers. The Lowcountry Romance Writers organize a lot of romance- and writing-specific classes.

Most of the RWA special interest groups run classes, such as YARWA (Young Adult), the Beau Monde (Regency), Kiss of Death (Romantic Suspense), and FF&P (Fantasy, Futuristic and Paranormal) to name a few. Most require membership first.

Books

Purchase your writer a book on craft or a research topic in their genre. There are some great ones out there (I’m partial to Stephen King’s On Writing), and I’m a big believer in the “you can always learn something more” attitude, no matter where you are in your career.

Also, writers READ. So gift cards to buy books on our wish lists are a good thing.

Last Resorts

Give the gift of your time. Seriously. Go have coffee with a writer and let them bounce ideas off you. Have them explain their story, or even read it aloud to you. Point out the plot holes. Ask questions. Help them make their story better. No lie, this is a treasured gift.

Or just let them brag, complain, share…anything to make writing a little less lonely.

And when all else fails, consider buying WINE.

*****

There’s a good chance these are all just things only I want.  :-)  So what’s on YOUR list this year?

Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. As always my dear Femme friends…great post and super convenient time-wise too. I love those mugs! This year I’d like a new Kindle, but we’ll see if Santa-hubby got the hint. Mine has no back light and those clip on book lights don’t always cut it for the late night sessions…staying up to read RoseAnn’s, Michelle’s and Maria’s new stories. Last year hubby got me some great books on writing—the Elements of Style and Write Right! (a great book on grammar and punctuation from Jan Venolia)…my go-to references.
    Merry Christmas – and Happy Holidays ladies!
    Nicole

    Reply
  2. Jenna Blue

     /  December 12, 2013

    Nope, not just you, Joanna! These are all high on my list, too! I broke my SuperWoman mug, and keep hinting that my kids should replace it…so far, no go! You missed a big one though: Writing Programs! Anything to make the process more efficient. I asked my husband for Dragon Naturally Speaking (converts your speech to text!) and am soooo crossing my fingers that he followed that sale coupon and link I sent! Merry Christmas, everybody! Here’s hoping all your writerly dreams come true in 2014!

    Reply
    • Yes! Scrivener and Dragon are both excellent additions to this list. How could I have left those off, esp when I love Scrivener as much as I do??

      I hope you get your mug because you ARE Super Woman!! xo

      Reply
      • A fellow Scrivener lover! Yay! Their mind mapping software (Scapple) is pretty cool for brainstorming. I’m a little scared of Dragon Naturally Speaking. I tend to ramble. :)

  3. RoseAnn DeFranco

     /  December 12, 2013

    Love this post. I’ll pass this list on to the hubs, but I’m adding JB’s addition of Dragon Naturally Speaking! Her endorsement is enough for me. Anything to help productivity. My mother in law gave me a Mrs. Darcy mug one year. LOVE that mug! My favorite is the gift of time. :)

    Reply
  4. Love the mugs. I can think of a few people to gift that wine one too. Personally, I asked hubby for one of those little trees that holds earrings and I have my eye on this ProFantasy software that lets you build maps and floor plans of your fictional worlds. Fun!

    Reply
  5. A bracelet that says I LOVE BIG BOOKS That is too funny! Thanks for the tips! Michele P.S. You’ll be getting mugs!

    Reply
  6. These are fun. I could have used these suggestions last week! I bought myself an iPad mini. My hubby never would have bought one for me. I’ve learned that when I want something, I just buy it. Needless to say, everyone will be giving me $$ to help pay for it :-)

    Reply
  7. I love the lego mug and of course, the lord and lady mug!

    Reply
  8. Diana Quincy

     /  December 15, 2013

    Let them drink coffee! My husband would probably say that mug best fits my personality. What great ideas! I personally love it when someone gives me a gift tailored to writers. Thanks for the ideas, Joanna :)

    Reply

Talk Back to the Femmes....

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,845 other followers

